4 Signs You’re Ready to Hire a Video Editor

Emily Olson
2 min readNov 8, 2021

--

If you said yes to any of these signs, you may be more ready than you think

1. You feel low on creative energy…

Creative energy (creativity) is not something you can force. Burnout can be very real! Learning how to avoid personal burnout is what business owners and creators have to master for sustainable growth long-term. As a content creator, you’re pitching to brands, thinking of video ideas, filming them, editing them, going to brand events, etc….and it’s draining on your creativity. When you are able to delegate editing elsewhere, all of a sudden you can focus on doing the things that help keep you creative and as a result, you make better content.

2. You also feel low on time.

If you’ve ever edited videos, you know a single video can take up to 15–20 hours to edit. Not to mention the time it takes to build video editing skills in the first place! When I started filming videos for YouTube, I reached a point that every creator is faced with: I realized I could continue to film AND edit videos myself, or pick one and delegate the other. Time was ultimately the issue. Which leads us to the next and most obvious sign you might need a video editor…

3. You enjoy filming videos more than editing them.

It was pretty easy to see for myself that I enjoyed editing my videos FAR more than I enjoyed filming. How did I know? A simple energetic test: I was mentally and emotionally exhausted after filming…EVERY time. However, I would JUMP into the editing process right away and always enjoyed the process more, and it left me less “sad” drained, and more “satisfyingly” drained ya know? The energetic difference you feel is NOT subtle! 🤪

“We can tend to forget that the creative process is messy for everyone; no one quite knows what they’re doing when they’re filming; it’s very much a flow state.”

4. Lastly, you feel resistance towards giving away editing…

Delegating is scary…delegating video editing can bring up even more feelings because you’re giving someone else your raw footage which often includes mess ups, stops and start-overs, and self-doubt. We can tend to forget that the creative process is messy for everyone; no one quite knows what they’re doing when they’re filming; it’s very much a flow state. But, you can trust that those fears are natural and part of the process of letting go, and stepping into the next phase of your creation. Remember, no one is judging you as much as you are!

--

--